Fantasy Trade: Give Up Broxton and Hamilton, Gain Sandoval and Duke

I ended up making a fantasy trade the other day, giving up closer Jonathan Broxton and OF Josh Hamilton for 3B Pablo Sandoval, SP Zach Duke, and OF Mike Cameron.

Hamilton has had an injury plagued season, and his July has been the worst month of his pro resurgence (a .542 OPS). If he turns it around, then I made a bad trade. But I recently grabbed Leo Nunez off of the free agent pile; he’s the young closer who has likely earned the job on a permanent basis with his July run while the regular Marlins closer Matt Lindstrom (and his 6.52 ERA) is out with an injury. In July, Nunez is 4 for 4 in save opportunities (3 saves this week) and an ERA of 2.00. The Marlins have another possible closer in lefty Dan Meyer, so am I rolling the dice here. My bet: I can give up Broxton’s top level production for a minimal decline, while upgrading Hamilton’s bat for Sandoval’s. For those of you who are looking for closer help, Nunez is available in 90% of ESPN leagues.

The other strategy here is to stock quality starting pitching–hence the acquisition of Duke. He’s not a top strike out guy, but does have a strong ERA and WHIP. I’ll be playing match-ups with Duke, but I hope to gain a few quality starts in the season’s final months. I still have Brian Fuentes and Ryan Franklin closing, so I should still see saves. I didn’t really want Cameron, and he will be cut as soon as Tori Hunter comes off the disabled list. Cameron is, in the short term, going to be more productive than Hamilton has for the past few weeks.

There’s back story here, since I drafted Sandoval, but released him during a slump in early May. He had a bad case of Nick Johnson–a first baseman hitting .300 with virtually no power and no one getting on base in front of him. In my defense, I picked up Todd Helton when I dropped Sandoval, and that worked out well. I also believe the Giants will add a bat this week–any addition to that lineup should either help set the table or get Sandoval more pitches to hit.

3 comments

  1. raysfanboy

    Oooh. This is the good stuff.

    You’ve wanted Sandoval for quite a while. He’s good, but not droolingly good. I don’t know that I can sign off on dropping Broxton. A top tier closer for a team that will win lots and lots of games the rest of the year. I am holding tight to him myself. (funny how similar our teams are–as I’ve said before–b/c I’ve got Fuentes too).

    I would recommend Randy Wells of the Cubs if you want a solid pitcher. Duke is ok, but he is on the Pirates. The Cubs are poised to win alot of games from here on out. Wells has had great numbers this year. http://raysfanboy.mlblogs.com

  2. raysfanboy

    Oooh. This is the good stuff.

    You’ve wanted Sandoval for quite a while. He’s good, but not droolingly good. I don’t know that I can sign off on dropping Broxton. A top tier closer for a team that will win lots and lots of games the rest of the year. I am holding tight to him myself. (funny how similar our teams are–as I’ve said before–b/c I’ve got Fuentes too).

    I would recommend Randy Wells of the Cubs if you want a solid pitcher. Duke is ok, but he is on the Pirates. The Cubs are poised to win alot of games from here on out. Wells has had great numbers this year. http://raysfanboy.mlblogs.com

  3. raysfanboy

    Oooh. This is the good stuff.

    You’ve wanted Sandoval for quite a while. He’s good, but not droolingly good. I don’t know that I can sign off on dropping Broxton. A top tier closer for a team that will win lots and lots of games the rest of the year. I am holding tight to him myself. (funny how similar our teams are–as I’ve said before–b/c I’ve got Fuentes too).

    I would recommend Randy Wells of the Cubs if you want a solid pitcher. Duke is ok, but he is on the Pirates. The Cubs are poised to win alot of games from here on out. Wells has had great numbers this year. http://raysfanboy.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

