Dan Haren Needs More Love

Quickly, I would point out that before his last start on July 23rd, Haren had gone ten straight starts allowing 2 ER or less and pitching at least 7 innings in all but one of those starts. Despite his statistical dominance this season, he has only 10 wins. I hope Cy Young voters don’t overlook him at the end of the season.

In other news, the Red Sox dealt Mark Kotsay today for the White Sox’s Brian Anderson. Anderson is a solid fielder, although barring injury I don’t see him with the big league club until the rosters expand in a little over a month. Kotsay’s playoff performance was so painful last year, I couldn’t look at him without feeling an odd mixture of anger, disappointment, compassion, and guilt. I wish him well with the White Sox. Needless to say, I’ll be more comfortable watching Red Sox games without him.

I root for the Rays 19 games every season. They lost one of said games last night. Let’s not make a habit of losing to the Yankees!

6 comments

  1. raysfanboy

    No kidding. Losing to the Yanks is painful.

    I read that Kotsay has a CAREER .373 pinch hitting average. Holy Cow! How can you give up a guy like that for crappy ol’ Brian Anderson? He’s got a .225 career average. Brutal. I feel like Epstein is making moves to make moves. Unless Kotsay was scheduled to make alot of $$. Maybe he’s freeing up space so he can get Halladay and Jack Wilson.

    Haren is a stud. He has the same issues as Halladay–great pitcher, crappy team.
    http://raysfanboy.mlblogs.com

  2. raysfanboy

    Totally unrelated note. I just read that Favre (I’m saying it Fav-ray) is not coming back this season. Good or bad for the Vikes? I am not a Vikings fan, but I know that you and I are fantasy guys so we monitor all teams. I bet that they go for Vick now. Sounds crazy, but they seem as if they are not in love with Tavaris Jackson and Vick can motor on turf.
    http://raysfanboy.mlblogs.com

  3. thekfny28

    Dan Haren definitely needs some love. This guy is, with little doubt in my mind, the best pitcher this year in the National League and easily deserving of the Cy Young award. I mean, you just can’t find a better guy as far as “a lot of K’s, few walks” goes, and now the ERA too. Redonculous.

    -EJ the Kid From New York
    http://yankeesquad.mlblogs.com

  4. thekfny28

    Dan Haren definitely needs some love. This guy is, with little doubt in my mind, the best pitcher this year in the National League and easily deserving of the Cy Young award. I mean, you just can’t find a better guy as far as “a lot of K’s, few walks” goes, and now the ERA too. Redonculous.

    -EJ the Kid From New York
    http://yankeesquad.mlblogs.com

  5. santosis

    Kotsay went 7 for 30 against the Rays last season. Baldelli is a better hitter; Anderson is a gold glove quality fielder who will never win the gold glove because, to quote Major League, he can’t hit for s%#t. I wrote a long rant last year (can’t find the post) on how overrated Favre is. He hasn’t won a meaningful postseason game since Holmgren left Green Bay. He makes terrible decisions in high pressure situations. The word choke is on the tip of my tongue. Sure, he’s accumulated incredible numbers. But he often does so at the expense of his team. Just look at how poorly he has played in every Green Bay playoff loss since 2000. As for Vick, I didn’t think he was that great a QB before prison, simply because he couldn’t consistently move the chains. I know, I know, he won a lot of games. But that defense was incredible, and was often overshadowed by Vick’s Sportscenter runs. If he comes back, then I think it will have to be in a Wildcat kind of capacity. And I’m not sure who will roll the dice on him. As to the Vikings, why sign Sage Rosenfeld if all you are going to do is try and replace him? (ps, there’s a clear reason why they don’t love Tavaris…)

Leave a Reply

